How You Can Help Beat HSUS

Read the original article at here.

The Humane Society of the United States has a similar political agenda to PETA: To ultimately get rid of zoos, aquariums, hunting, circuses, and other commercial uses of animals. HSUS’s biggest obsession is stopping Americans from eating meat, dairy, and eggs. As part of that, HSUS has lobbied for laws that restrict the eggs and pork consumers can buy at the supermarket.

But there’s a way you can stick up for your right to eat what you want—while costing HSUS over $10 million.

Over the past decade, HSUS has supported measures that restrict the free trade of goods in the United States. One notable example is a law in California banning the import and sale of eggs from hens in conventional housing systems—any eggs imported and sold in California must comply with California’s unique housing standards. California’s current hen-housing standards were lobbied for by HSUS back in 2008 and 2010. And in 2016, HSUS pushed a law in Massachusetts banning the sale of common eggs and pork in 2022.

This causes economic harm to farmers who once freely shipped and sold their eggs to Californians. This economic harm is then passed on to consumers in the form of more expensive eggs and pork (and other items that use these products) and fewer choices.

An amendment to the Farm Bill known as the Protect Interstate Commerce Act would roll back these anti-consumer restrictions that HSUS spent over $10 million lobbying for. California farmers would still be required to follow California law, but California could not impose itself on Missouri farmers—nor could it prohibit Californians from buying eggs from Missouri farmers.

A conference committee in Congress is hashing out the finer details and finalizing the new Farm Bill, aiming to have the bill on the president’s desk by the end of the month. Now is the time to reach out to representatives on the conference committee and voice your support for the Protect Interstate Commerce Act in this year’s Farm Bill. Below is a list of Members of Congress who are on the conference committee. Please reach out to your Representative or Senator and ask that they support the Protect Interstate Commerce Act.


  1. Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN) tel: 202-225- 2165 email:
  2. Rep. David Scott (D-GA) tel: 202-225-2939 email:
  3. Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA) tel: 202-225-3341 email:
  4. Rep. Tim Walz (D-MN) tel: 202-225-2472 email:
  5. Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH) tel: 202-225-7032 email:
  6. Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA) tel: 202-225-6101 email:
  7. Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX) tel: 202-225-9901 email:
  8. Rep. Michelle Lujar Grisham (D-NM) tel:202-225-6316 email:
  9. Rep. Ann Kuster (D-NH) tel: 202-225-5206 email:
  10. Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ) tel: 202-225-3361 email:
  11. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) [Chairman of House Agriculture Committee] tel: (202) 225-3605 email:
  12. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA) tel: (202) 225-5121 email:
  13. Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) tel: (202) 225-5431 email:
  14. Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK) tel: (202) 225-5565 email:
  15. Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL) tel: (202) 225-3261 email:
  16. Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA) tel: (202) 225-6531 email:
  17. Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR) tel: (202) 225-4076 email:
  18. Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO) tel: (202) 225-2876 email:
  19. Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL) tel: 202.225.2371 email:
  20. Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL) tel: 202-225-5744 email:
  21. Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC) tel: (202) 225-2731 email:
  22. Rep. Roger Marshall (R-KS) tel: 202-225-2715 email:
  23. Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX) tel: 202-225-4005 email:
  24. Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA) tel: (202) 225-2823 email:
  25. Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC) tel: (202) 225-2071 email:
  26. Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL) tel: (202) 225-5271 email:
  27. Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND) tel: 202-225-2611 email:
  28. Rep. Jeb Hensarling [Chairman of House Financial Services Committee] (R-TX) tel: (202) 225-3484 email:
  29. Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI) tel: (202) 225-3365 email:
  30. Rep. Ed Royce [Chairman of House Foreign Affairs Committee] (R-CA) tel: (202) 225-4111 email:
  31. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH) tel: (202) 225-2216  email:
  32. Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC) tel: (202) 225-3065 email:
  33. Rep. James Comer (R-KY) tel: (202) 225-3115 email:
  34. Rep. Rob Bishop [Chairman of House Natural Resources Committee] (R-UT) tel: 202-225-0453 email:
  35. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR) tel: (202) 225-3772 email:
  36. Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-LA) tel: (202) 225-8490 email:
  37. Rep. Neal Dunn (R-FL) tel: 202-225-5235 email:
  38. Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA) tel: (202) 225-4540 email:
  39. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH) tel: (202) 225-6265 email:
  40. Rep. Alma Adams (D-NC) tel: 202-225-1510  email:
  41. Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY) tel: (202) 225-5076 email:
  42. Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA) tel: (202) 225-2201 email:
  43. Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY) tel: (202) 225-2464 email:
  44. Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) tel: (202) 225-2435 email:
  45. Rep. Stacey Plaskett (D-VI) tel: (202) 225-1790 email:
  46. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) tel: (202) 225-8885 email:
  47. Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-NY) tel: 202-225-5905 email:


  1. Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA) tel: 202-224-3254 email: Michael_Dolch@Ernst.Senate.Gov
  2. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) tel: 202-224-4843 email: Skylar_Sowder@Boozman.Senate.Gov
  3. Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) tel: 202-224-2043 email: Jared_Henderson@Heitkamp.Senate.Gov
  4. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) tel: 202-224-4822 or Minority Staff 202-224-2035 email:
  5. Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) tel: 202-224-4242 email: Alex_Piper@Leahy.Senate.Gov
  6. Senator John Hoeven (R-ND) tel: 202-224-2551 email: Brita_Endrud@Hoeven.Senate.Gov
  7. Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) [Senate Majority Leader] tel: 202-224-2541 email:
  8. Senator Pat Roberts (R-KS) [Chairman of Senate Agriculture Committee] tel: 202-224-4774 email:
  9. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) tel: 202-224-2315 email:

Add Comment